top of page
Writer's pictureNightFlame

Jeremiah

Jeremiah and I hang out pretty much every day. It’s been this way for as long as I remember. When we were little we played tag and hide and seek. As we’ve gotten older, though, it varies. We often end up under a tree at a park to read.

“What are you reading today, J?” I look over to him thumbing through a book.

“The book you last read, it's pretty good. Thanks for the rec’.” he responded without looking up, not noticing me rolling my eyes.

“You know I kind of wonder if I’ll ever be the one on the other side of a good recommendation. I find it impossible that you don’t read anything I don’t tell you to.”

“What can I say? You’ve got good taste.” he said dryly, parroting the same sarcastic response he always has to this topic. I squint at him in annoyance.

Jeremiah is pretty weird, which I usually attribute to him being homeschooled. My parents don’t seem to approve of him. It's always awkward when I ask if he can come over for dinner.

“I think you should find some more friends, get out more.” my mom would say, which never really made sense to me. I do get out. Besides, other kids don’t really like me. They naturally avoid me and I always get weird looks.

I remember one time when I was younger. I was taking a break from playing wood chips with Jeremiah at a local park, talking to this other boy and asked him if he wanted to play with us.

“Us?” he asked.

“Yeah, with my buddy Jeremiah.” I clarified. He looked confused and refused politely before leaving. I stopped talking to people about Jeremiah after that.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The rain smells, and I hate it

The rain smells, And I hate it Men hold god in their hearts Yet they litter the streets like rats His radiant light now sickly yellow...

Blood and Gold

The shadow beckons. Who said loves comes with ease? It is time to string along the savory red beads. Who knew how beautiful are the...

Comments


bottom of page