top of page
Writer's pictureNightFlame

Day 102

After searching for over three months, we finally tracked down the beast. Three months of searching through the jungle, following tracks, taking samples, theorizing, being ambushed by the beast itself, and many other dangers. I am thankful for my companions who have brought me this far and I hope that my findings will be useful to any who wish to expand and study in this field.

The day began before dawn. We didn’t want to take too long and encounter the beast after dark, for that would’ve spelt the end of our journey. We didn’t even have a meal, instead eating jerky during our hike. We were deep in the jungle and have not seen civilization for weeks. We were prepared, though. I knew we had collected enough information on the beast and its behavior to finally track it to its lair and defeat it. The dull taste of old jerky did not dissuade our determination.

I looked over at our guide, Devland. He’s a young boy that lives in a village towards the edge of the jungle. His sister was captured by the beast about a month ago and so he insisted on being our pack mule until we complete our quest. When I saw in his eyes his grief and sense of duty, I knew that no possible danger could prevent him from going after her. My one worry was that he wouldn’t be able to pull his weight in the group. How wrong I was, I thought as I now stared at the young man with tan skin and calloused hands, carrying a load on his back comically large compared to his size. Not once has he complained about his pain. He knew these woods like the back of his hand. Looking back, I don’t think we would’ve completed the quest had we not had his expertise on the flora and fauna of this region at our disposal. It’s hard to not feel a sense of pride as I witness a continued determination, after all this time. He caught me staring at him.

“Eyes forward Dr. Tunderbog, there isn’t just the chimera to look out for.”

Yes, the holy grail of our quest, a chimera. A beast of legend with the body and head of a lion, goat head protruding from its back, and the head of a snake for a tail. This isn’t a normal chimera, however. The object of our hunt seems to be much more intelligent than normal. Not only has it been rounding up prey and providing it with means of survival in order to create an abundant personal stock of food, it has gotten its hands on a rare artifact. It isn’t confirmed what artifact it holds but I have a guess, educated by one of our encounters with the beast; Halo of the Storm, a magical golden circlet with unknown origin that grants the wielder the ability to call down a bolt of lightning at will. A chimera being able to activate a magical artifact has never been witnessed before. 

I think back to the day of our ambush.

Aggrin, the grizzled hunter I hired to defeat the beast, was sharpening his sword at the end of a long day of hiking. He typically keeps to himself, but shows a remarkable sense of duty. Devland and I were also winding down and massaging our soles. Aggrin perked up, on his feet at the creaking of a branch. A terrifying roar bellowed from the bushes as the chimera bounded out. The golden circlet began to glow but Aggrin threw his sword at the beast. Lightning sprang from the air, striking the flying sword before dripping its yellow death into the ground. The sword continued through the air, striking the lion head with the pommel, scaring it away. The whole encounter lasted only a few seconds. After this, I certainly had no doubt about any of the rumors I had heard about Aggrin when I first hired the man.

Today’s hike was nearing its end. We tracked the chimera’s lair to a mountain. It was a dangerous climb and we froze at every rustle or skitter we heard, hoping to not be caught unprepared. We even all rubbed mud over our bodies in hopes that we would not give away our presence through our scent, despite my protest. When we reached the gravelly clearing near the peak, we began to prepare our attack.

Just as he slipped on his rubber gloves, a roar erupted from the crags. The chimera wasted no time and began circling Aggrin, casting several bolts of lightning at him. Devland and I were already hidden nearby. Aggrin held his sword high, the lightning bolts absorbed into the metal, traveling through a copper wire, and dispelled into the ground through a piton. I could see his sword steam as it heated, but the hunter held firm. The beast was alarmed but didn’t flee its own lair. Aggrin used this chance to sprint at the beast and strike. His first swing was swatted away, the next a feint, allowing him to wrench the circlet from the lion’s head with his free hand and toss it my way. I grabbed it and just as the lion wrestled Aggrin to the ground, I activated the artifact, incapacitating the chimera with its own lightning.

After wrapping the beast in the copper wire, we soon discovered the captives in a dark cave nearby. The look on Devland’s face when reunited with his sister was indescribable. With our goals all completed, we left for the village.

When we returned, the people rejoiced. Many looked on, hoping to find their loved ones among the returning crowd, but were disappointed. It was bittersweet. With Devland’s sister found and Aggrin paid, we parted ways. Although, I did notice that Devland followed after Aggrin to the Inn. I, myself, am left to prepare for my trip back to the academy alone with the captured beast in tow.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jeremiah

A micro-fiction story I wrote about a boy and his friend.

Kommentare


bottom of page